Informations Culturelles


Official title: Union of Myanmar

Area: 1 098 581 km2

Population: 52 000 000 inhabitants

Capital: Nay Pyi Daw

Peoples and ethnic groups: Burman (65%), Shan (10%), Karen (7%), Rakhine and Chin minorities, Kachin, my, Chinese, Indian and Assamese.

Languages: Burmese, Karen dialects, Shan, Chin and Kachin

Religions: Buddhism Theravada (87%), Christianity (5%), Islam (4%), animism (3%).

Government: Civil Government since 2011 – 3 main parties

President: U Win Myint (until mars 2020)

Main Parterners: China, Thailand, Singapore, South Korea, Japan